Books…

Finished and loved this one in spite of it being a rough reading weekend…I think what happens with Big Chemo and Neulasta is it makes it hard to really read the way I like to…I have to read much slower and with lots more breaks…I hate reading that way! But this book is so good it was almost worth a slow and leisurely reading experience.

Our weekend was spent upstairs…in our bedroom…Den reading…Patty reading…the girls stretched out on our bed…enjoying my new pink summer chenille bedspread. These girls always claim whatever is new! There was a Law and Order Marathon and that helped, too. Our bedroom has big vaulted ceilings and lots of windows so I don’t really ever feel closed in. I couldn’t move…I don’t think I went downstairs all weekend…I seriously just couldn’t. But it’s the third day after Neulasta and I feel better and stronger already…so little by little I will get back to the business of being me!

Some new books!

From Edelweiss…description from Amazon…

“Jessi Kirby’s books just keep getting better and better, and The Secret History of Us is her best yet. It beautifully touches on all the most important things in life—love, family, friendship, memory, and bacon. I loved it.”—Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything

From NetGalley…description from Amazon…
 

“A warm, wry, sharply observed debut novel about what happens when a family is forced to spend a week together in quarantine over the holidays…”

From Edelweiss…description from Amazon…
 

“A riveting and unexpected novel that questions whether a peaceful and nonviolent community can survive when civilization falls apart.”

From Edelweiss…description from Amazon.

“A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah’s Key.”

From Edelweiss…description from Amazon…
 

“The word ‘masterpiece’ has been cheapened by too many blurbs, but My Absolute Darling absolutely is one.” —Stephen King

“A brilliant and immersive, all-consuming read about one fourteen-year-old girl’s heart-stopping fight for her own soul.”

So…some really unique books…don’t you think?

Hugs,

Patty

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Books…

  1. Ti says:

    I love the pink bedspread. Chenille is so underrated.

    I am glad to hear that you have more energy today and that the Neulasta has been kicked to the curb (so to speak). Every time I see the add for that medication I think what a crock… that lady is all sunshine and smiles.

    I took a nap this weekend right before that special prom event. It was 100 degrees outside and my husband and I fell asleep watching TV and then got up just in time to head to the event. Luckily, we were told to stand in this one particular spot for crowd control and it happened to be in the shade. The girl almost fainted though. She wasn't even in the sun! The prom went great though. I took no pics except one crappy one of the red carpet because I was so wrapped up in just seeing the joy in their faces as they walked down the carpet all decked out in their fancy threads.

    Like

  2. lakesidemusing says:

    Seven Days of Us sounds like it might have potential, and I'm going to look up Odd Child Out. Your summer bedspread is so pretty! Chenille always reminds me of my grandmother's house… bring back such happy memories. Glad you're feeling a little better today!

    Like

  3. Stefanie Ng says:

    How lovely to read all day and to be in bed. Our house is really small so E is in the office which opens up from our bedroom; he watches typical guy movies on his computer; I get irritated with the screams and gunfire which is why I'm always in our dining area/living room and the girls are either in their rooms or outside with the neighbor.

    Like

  4. Laurel-Rain Snow says:

    Your bedroom sounds wonderful, with the vaulted ceilings, and I love that pink bedspread. Glad you are relaxing…and soon will move beyond this phase.

    Odd Child Out looks like a book for me.

    Like

  5. Paging Through Books says:

    Love the bedspread! My mother had the same one in off-white and put it on for years every summer 🙂 But I like your blush pink one even better, and Lucy– how cute!

    All your books are great-sounding, and so diverse, yay! Now whatever mood you're in, you have a book at your fingertips for it! Rest up, feel better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s