A Blustery Windy Day!

Whew!  We are having wickedly wild weather!  Today was “drive the 61 minute drive to a hair appointment day”…we almost cancelled because the forecast was for 60 mph winds on our drive home!  And…on the way home…branches were down…traffic was miserable…but we made it!  Whew!

The aftermath of a Mexican food lunch on our drive home…the dregs of a yummy margarita and 3/4 of my lunch.  The mistake I made was slamming down way too many chips and yummy table side guacamole…who can really eat lunch after that?  Not this girl!  I was too hungry…I just had toast for breakfast and nothing else until almost 2 ish…obvi no dinner is in the works plus Den is complaining of tummy trouble.  Oh where oh where is the Pepcid AC?

I am reading this book from NetGalley.  It’s so good…delightfully good!

1F841DB2-0136-40D6-800B-99F2FE5C4A15

The time frame is the 1930’s…it’s main characters are Henrietta and Clive…also known as Inspector Howard…and it’s a mystery…it’s historical fiction…it’s much more…according to these quotes…I couldn’t choose one so I threw them all in.

“Cox’s eye for historical detail remains sharp… A pleasant, escapist diversion.”
―Kirkus Reviews

“Fans of Henrietta and Inspector Howard will delight in Michelle Cox’s latest novel. Romantic and atmospheric, A Promise Given offers an intriguing glimpse into 1930s Chicago, by weaving in authentic period details and exploring the social tensions of the day. The unlikely pairing of the Howards―two characters from very different worlds―provides a tender love story.”
―Susanna Calkins, award-winning author of the Lucy Campion Historical Mysteries

“The mix of sleuthing and aristocratic life pairs well with Rhys Bowen’s Royal Spyness series.”
―Booklist

A Promise Given…is the third book in this series but I am not lost at all even though I hate not reading a series in its proper order…also…here’s my accidental bonus…Amazon is selling the Kindle version of the first two for 99 cents and $1.21!  Are those odd prices or what?

I couldn’t resist adding the praises for these two!

A Girl Like You:

“Michelle Cox masterfully recreates 1930s Chicago, bringing to life its diverse neighborhoods and eclectic residents, as well as its seedy side. Henrietta and Inspector Howard are the best pair of sleuths I’ve come across in ages―Cox makes us care not just about the case, but about her characters. A fantastic start to what is sure to be a long-running series.
―Tasha Alexander, New York Times best-selling author of The Adventuress

“Fans of spunky, historical heroines will love Henrietta Von Harmon.”
―Booklist starred review

“Flavored with 1930s slang and fashion, this first volume in what one hopes will be a long series is absorbing. Henrietta and Clive are a sexy, endearing, and downright fun pair of sleuths. Readers will not see the final twist coming.”
―Library Journal starred review

A Ring of Truth:

“An engaging and effective romp rich with historical details.”
―Kirkus

“There’s a lot to love about the bloodhound couple at the center of this cozy mystery.”
―Foreword Reviews

“Set in the 1930s, this romantic mystery combines the teetering elegance of Downton Abbey and the staid traditions of Pride and Prejudice with a bit of spunk and determination that suggest Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs.”
―Booklist

Ok…tummy trouble averted…Den is feeling better…I need some Cheerios…time for Survivor!

Patty

22 thoughts on “A Blustery Windy Day!

  1. Laurel-Rain Snow says:

    The Mexican food with a margarita sounds good…but I do the same thing in those restaurants: fill up on chips, but I usually have them with salsa.

    The books look tempting. I’ve never read this author, so I am leery of doing so. I would have to borrow from the library, since I don’t like to risk a review book that I might not enjoy. That’s just me, though. I’ve been burned by books I can barely slog through. LOL

    Tomorrow I’m having my hair styled again, and afterwards will have lunch with my daughter. Yesterday I had a mani-pedi…so I feel pampered.

    Enjoy your week!

    Like

    • Patty says:

      I need to schedule a mani/pedi but it is so cold here! I ripped off my gels because I was too lazy to go in and my nails are a mess!

      Like

    • Patty says:

      Annie…I don’t know what you mean about writing…I still don’t get notifications of your posts…I have to remind myself to check on my own…I loved the Easter card…thank you!

      Like

  2. Mary says:

    It’s hard to resist the chips and salsa. Hope you two are feeling much better. Glad you’re enjoying the books. I used to read in order but now, who has time?
    Happy Thursday!

    Like

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    Glad Den is better. We’ve had gorgeous weather so I have a pedicure scheduled for today and, you guessed it, it’s MUCH cooler today. If that’s all I have to complain about, though, life is pretty good.

    Like

  4. lakesidemusing says:

    I do the same thing at Mexican restaurants… especially if I am super hungry when we get there! It’s another nice day down here in Florida, but schools are on a 2 hour delay at home. Some are still without power after the high winds. This winter just doesn’t want to end!

    Like

    • Patty Magyar says:

      Yesterday was amazing…the winds picked up later in the day and throughout the night. We expected to lose power but we didn’t. And seriously…the snow forecast for the weekend is getting even more serious. I just want to walk outside, sit on the deck, read and occasionally gaze at the pond. I really should know better than to eat anything other than chips and salsa…and it was table-side guacamole…made fresh…it was addictive. My lunch still sits in the refrigerator…I think I will feed it to the crows…or the lovely Pennsylvania vultures that live on all of our roofs!

      Like

  5. Ti says:

    Chips, guac and a margarita sound like heaven. I can’t drink anything or take anything right now because of the weird liver results. I am sad about that. I don’t hardly drink at all but when they tell you you can’t then you suddenly want a glass of something.

    Like

  6. ElisabethFoodandthrift says:

    Patty, I was supposed to go to Cleveland next week, and since I didn’t make the reservation, and checking the 10 day weather report, I decided to wait till next month. I can’t believe the nasty weather you guys are still having up north! We are having a very pleasant weather here in S. Florida, and praying for rain…seriously!

    So sorry about Den having the ‘stomach issue’ with the Mexican food…no wonder we only go to our favorite little ‘mom and pop’ Mexican place that has been around for decades, and seen their super clean kitchen! Thumbs up for you to go to the hairdresser, your mani-pedi, even though you had to cancel your appointments, I would have cancelled as well!

    Like

    • Patty Magyar says:

      We should have known better about the Mexican food…we have our own special places closer to home but we were too hungry and made a bad choice! It will be a more pleasant trip for you next month!

      Like

  7. Kathryn says:

    That’s a significant drive for a hair appointment. I just went to convert miles to km to see the strength of those winds, yeah pretty strong. Glad the book you are reading is working for you and nice to see the earlier books so well priced!

    Like

  8. June says:

    That wind is no joke! In March, there was a Noreaster and the wind was blowing so hard, it pushed me down the street. I thought it was going to lift me off the ground. I was really scared. I grabbed the hand of a teen boy to cross the street and we were both frightened. It was crazy!! Lol…I can laugh now, but then…whew! 😮

    Like

    • Patty says:

      It’s because I have allergic reactions to color…this salon uses organic color in a special way and I don’t get any reactions…my hair grew back a different color…with spotty grays…she intertwined some Browns so now it looks more natural…but whatever…color can’t touch my scalp…everything must be foiled in…sigh!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s